Thursday, October 27, 2022, 5:30 PM - 8:30 PM
Afterparty to Follow!

Join us in celebrating our honorees! The evening begins with a red carpet check in and cocktail reception, followed by the ceremony and dinner. We'll cap the evening off with music and dancing poolside during the afterparty!

This year’s Gala will be hosted by 2021 Louis F. Wolf Jr. Memorial Scholarship Award recipient, musician, producer, and educational television host, Monica Brighton. Monica has a strong passion for technology, children’s media, and education. She is currently the host and producer of That TVOkids Show on TVOkids, as well as host of Backyard Beats, an award-winning educational music series.  

Monica Brighton will host this year's awards gala. 

Monica Brighton is a first-generation Canadian in the Master of Media Production and Master of Business Administration program (MAMBA) at Toronto Metropolitan University. She graduated from the Bachelor of Arts RTA media production program with a double major in audio and video production, and a minor in music and culture.

Monica is a television writer/producer and host for three television series targeted for pre-school, school age and teen demographics; Backyard Beats, That TVOkids Show, and Grade 13. This year, she hosted the City of Toronto’s Canada Day ceremony. Monica also is a voice actor who has worked on Paw Patrol, Arthur, 16 Hudson, Wild Kratts, and Dino Dana.

At her current position at TVOntario, Monica has produced and hosted live television that has maintained over 70,000 concurrent viewers and produced/hosted over 60 hours of content that has been broadcasted live on television and available on Apple TV, Android TV, Amazon Fire TV Stick, Roku, Samsung TV, and LG TV. Producing all 60 hours of content also requires her to write, direct, shoot, and book talent. In 2021, Backyard Beats, was awarded an International Kidscreen Award, a Youth Media Alliance Award of Excellence, received a Canadian Screen Award nomination, and was a Finalist for the Prix Jeunesse in Munich, Germany. 

Monica’s research on immersive sound formats and audio technology has been recognized by the Society of Motion Pictures and Television Engineers (SMPTE). As the first Canadian female to be recognized with this international award.

Upon graduating from the MA/MBA program, her career objectives would be to find work in The United States as a writer/ producer and eventually a Showrunner

Attending the Gala

Individual tickets or reserved tables of ten may be added to your registration. Pricing can be found on the Pricing and Packages page.

Gala sponsorships, including Sponsored Tables are available.


This year, 17 honors will be bestowed upon 38 individuals and organizations. Among these is the supreme accolade of the Society, Honorary Membership, which recognizes individuals who have performed eminent service in the advancement of engineering in motion pictures, television, or in the allied arts and sciences, counting the likes of Thomas Edison, George Eastman, Samuel L. Warner, David Sarnoff, Walt Disney, Ray Dolby, George Lucas, Richard Edlund, James Cameron, and Peter Jackson among its ranks.

This year, Honorary Membership will be conferred on two individuals: Ang Lee and Charles H. Jablonski. 

Peter Armstrong
Mitchell Baker
Paul Broderick
Michael Cieslinski
Jeff Cohen
Daniel Despa
Touradj Ebrahimi
Barbara Flueckiger
Charles Jablonski
Alan Lambshead
Summer E. Lange
Ang Lee
Didier LeGall
John Meyer
Madeleine Noland
Toshiyuki Ogura
Patrick Renner
Dave Schnuelle
Michael Smith
Michael D. Smith
Richard Welsh
Carrie Wootten